School of Medicine History

The Faculty of Medical Sciences (FMS) of the University of Warmia and Mazury in Olsztyn (from 1st of September 2017- School of Medicine Collegium Medicum University of Warmia and Mazury in Olsztyn) was established on 17th July 2007.
In the academic year 2007/2008 the Faculty continued studies in Nursing School (previously performed at the Faculty of Biology) and began preparations to an MD program in the School of Medicine and MSc studies in Nursing School.

The Medical School Curriculum Committee developed a program of studies, taking into account the goal of introducing modern teaching methods, attracting senior researchers from all over the country and to systematically create new preclinical and clinical departments in accordance to a specific timetable. At the same time efforts were made to take over the 103rd Military Hospital from the Ministry of National Defense, culminating in the creation of its Clinical University Hospital, which was opened by the Minister of Health – Dr. Ewa Kopacz in June 2009. As a result of an agreement with the Governor of Warmia and Mazury UWM an agreement was signed with the directors of many institutions such as the Regional Hospital, the Regional Children’s Hospital, Independent Public Group of Tuberculosis and Pulmonary Diseases in Olsztyn and the Provincial Hospital for the Rehabilitation of Children in America near Olsztynek, to make available more external clinical units as a base for newly forming clinics , clinical units and departments. A similar agreement was signed with the Director of the Cancer Center at the Ministry of Internal Affairs Hospital of Warmia and Mazury in Olsztyn.

1st of October 2008, the charter class was inaugurated at the School of Medicine. New medical students began classes in modern and furnished rooms in the Department of Anatomy and the Department of Histology and Embryology, the Department of Medical Biology, the Department of Human Physiology and the Department of Emergency Medicine. Some classes in the field of basic science are conducted on the basis of existing and well-prepared University units, such as the Department of Chemistry, the Department of Biophysics, the Department of Biochemistry, the Department of Biology, or the Department of Psychology and Sociology of the Faculty of Social Sciences at UWM.

1st of October 2010 studies started in the English Language Program at the School of Medicine. Our University made a big effort, and also incurred huge costs for the renovation of its own facilities for the newly created departments and establishments and their equipment. Well prepared projects that obtained funding from the European Union include a modern Collegium Anatomicum were the Department of Anatomy and the Department of Histology and Human Embryology are located. EU funds supported diagnostic testing equipment and the Stem Cell Laboratory of the Department of Neurology and Neurosurgery. The Laboratory installed boxing laboratory cultures of human cells to meet the highest sanitary requirements and intended primarily for research work on Magnetic Resonance capacity of 3 Tesla. The Faculty of Medical Sciences is also one of the main users of the very sophisticated and well equipped Molecular Diagnostics Laboratory opened 21st May 2010. This laboratory was created by funds from European funding for joint use, together with the Department of Biology.

It must be underlined that the strength of scientific research and teaching within a large university is its ability to use its vast database and the real possibility of internal cooperation. This applies to the Department of Biology, the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine and the Department of Food Science. The School of Medcine also takes full advantage of university-wide structures, such as the modern University Library opened in 2007. The New Library building allowed the merging of distributed collections and significantly raised the quality of services offered. The new building can accommodate one and a half million library collections and provides 500 places in the reading rooms, 300 chairs in common areas such as classrooms and group work rooms.

28th of February 2011 the Commission for Academic Degrees and Titles Division of Medical Sciences gave the Faculty of Medical Sciences of the University of Warmia and Mazury the right to confer the academic degree of Doctor of Philosophy (PhD).

1st of September 2017 the Faculty of Medical Sciences has been divided into two faculties. School of Medicine and Faculty of Health Sciences. Students of Medicine program will continue their education at the School of Medicine. Students of Emergency Rescue,  Midwifery, Nursing and Nutrition programs will continue their education at the Faculty of Health Sciences.